IF07

The New Screen, Victoria, Canada.
At the New Screen yesterday I decided to junk my prepared talk and go for more of a workshop/conversational approach. We'd had an afternoon of extremely high quality and detailed talks, but I felt that since it was the end of the day, and the room was also very hot, it would be best to end with something lighter. I planned to start with a clip from Singin in the Rain, but there was a problem with the audio of that file, so instead we looked at Introducing the Book, and later at Cirque du Machinima, but mostly I introduced the audience to the concept of transliteracy and asked them to think about their own literacies. We had a very interesting discussion and I encouraged people to post their comments in this thread. Common topics were dyslexia and ADD, and once again the deficiency of the 'literacy' part of the word.
I'm starting to think we either need to agree on an answer to this, or find a substitute. Any ideas?

4 thoughts on “IF07

  1. One transliterate object that I thought of earlier are punctuation marks. They are transliterate because they transfer information in oral language (the question, the stop, etc.) in written format (the question mark, the period, etc.).
    –Dene

  2. I enjoyed this talk very much. Lots of little nuggets of insight and interest.
    I wasn’t sure what was meant by trans-literacy but I think in the end I understood it to mean a sort of ability to do meta pattern matching.
    I remember once having quite an embodied experience of it when I realized that the same part of my brain that can debug code can sculpt clay.

  3. Dene, I like your punctuation comment. I wonder if anyone has gathered together a study of punctuation in different languages?
    Maria, thanks for your comment. Pattern matching would be an interesting contribution to the discussion. Your comment on parts of the brain also references work that needs to be done to bring neuroscience into the discussion.

  4. Four or five years ago I joined a writer’s group here in Nanaimo. It was unusual for me to join anything resembling a club. One of the members was a high school English teacher who was a stickler for proper punctuation, even in poetry. I told him that I liked my commas big, red and animated.

Comments are closed.